FUSG swears in new council members

Danielle Huber

Staff Writer

Franciscan University Student Government swore in its new members for the 2021-2022 school year during its meeting Wednesday, April 28.

The new additions to FUSG included rising seniors President Alex McKenna; Vice President Joshua Schutte; sophomore senators James Duarte, Erin Whoriskey and Emilia DeGroat; junior senator Hannah Kline; and senior senators Jonathan Meinholz and Maria Gontis.

The new council members will be joining previous members: junior senators Jared Johnson and Mary Catherine Prostejovsky and senior senator Bridget Whoriskey.

In the student body elections Tuesday, Claudio Ferrari was voted outstanding male senior for the 2020-2021 school year and Faustina Habisohn was voted outstanding female.

Before the swearing in, Vice President Clement Harrold said his farewell to the 2020-2021 FUSG.

“You guys (in FUSG) have been pretty phenomenal and proactive in trying to help the student body,” he said.

President Athanasius Sirilla honored Harrold and said, “I think undoubtedly the most valuable person here is Mr. Harrold. I’ve been so impressed over the course of the campaign and the past year (with) how much time Clement spent on Student Government. None of this would have happened if I hadn’t … picked Clement as my vice president.”

“I’ve never had more fun in Student Government as I did this year,” Sirilla said. “The two main things that I’ve learned over the past year have definitely been the necessity of teamwork and humility. Starting with the campaign I realized there’s no way I could have gotten all the stuff I wanted to do done, in the campaign or throughout the past year, if it hadn’t been for the hard work of so many people, because I don’t have all the talents that so many of you have.”

FUSG adviser David Schmiesing congratulated the former council on accomplishing it’s goals throughout the year and congratulated the incoming officers and senators.

For the last time this year, Chief Justice Carly Newman announced best dressed as Justice Howard and Justice Kettinger.

The last meeting of this school year was adjourned by the new council members of 2021-2022.