Student Government appoints new justices and senators


Student government met this Wednesday to make some crucial personnel additions and to receive the allocation of funds for the 2014 fall semester.

During the meeting there were three justices appointed along with one senior class senator and two junior class senators.

Among the newly appointed justices is sophomore, Annemarie Krall. Her qualifications included her position as co-president of the Anscombe Society alongside other extracurricular activities.

“Annemarie is involved with the student body and possesses a passion for the field,” Chief Justice Thomas Gaudet said in recommendation. In addition to Annemarie, sophomores Thomas Valentine and Maryanna Leonard were also appointed as justices.

The senior class senator who was elected, Joseph Antoniello, combined his experience and his willingness to achieve to win the vote. Along with him, junior senators Gabriella Furgiuele and Drew Pultorak were also elected.

“These students have been active on campus,” President Brian Kirby, said of the new additions to student government. “They have already achieved great things and I believe they will continue to do so.”

Kirby’s confidence is founded on previously experienced candidates who are excited and anxious to be a part of student government. Junior senator Pultorak has served previously in student government and looks forward to the challenges ahead.

In addition to new appointments, the 2014 Fall Semester allocation of funds was announced. For the 2014 Fall Semester, student government will be allocated $40,485.78.

This figure is about what was expected by student government and, as stated at the meeting, should be adequate for the goals they have set.

In the coming weeks, freshman senate seats will be filled and specific goals will be set for the academic year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *