Student Government opens new year with new members


Franciscan University Student Government held its first meeting of the new school year on Wednesday, Sept. 5 and passed several bills, including an allocation of $1,500 for travel to the annual Network Conference.

Fall Bill No. 8 called for the money to be allocated for travel to the conference, which will be held at Benedictine College Oct. 11-14. The Network, a group of Newman Guide-approved schools, gives member schools the opportunity to work together to “further explore new ideas and policies,” according to the bill. Four members of Student Government will represent Franciscan University at the conference, explaining the large price tag. The bill passed unanimously.

Student Government senators also passed an allocation of $450 to Parkhurst Dining for ice cream used at the Sundae for your Sunday event held Aug. 26 to welcome new students. A reimbursement of $86.18 to Executive Assistant Alex McKenna for materials used at the event was also approved.

Nine students who had been nominated to positions on Student Government’s judicial and executive branches were approved during the meeting. They were as follows: Morgan Leverenz, secretary; Kelsey Scott-Avery, treasurer; Samuel Genius, internal auditor; Alex McKenna, executive assistant; Mary Ann Cortese, Austrian ambassador; Michael Williams, Austria consul; Jeremiah Poff, chief justice; Loren Shillinglaw, justice; and Maria Lencki, justice.

All nominations were passed unanimously.

Chief Justice Poff said that elections for the freshman senate seats will be held on Sept. 18 and an in-house election for the empty sophomore and junior seats will be held at the Student Government business meeting on Sept. 19. There are currently two junior seats and one sophomore seat open.

Student Government will next meet Sept. 12 in the St. Leo Room at 11 a.m.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *